RSS

Hello Mars, Goodbye Facebook

06 Aug

So its late and I just got home from watching the new Spider-Man.(Which I liked better then the original) Decided to check Facebook before heading to bed. I laid in bed and from my HTC Evo I opened up my Facebook app FriendCaster. Scrolling through I see lots of horoscopes, which I skip, I’m not into that. I see pictures, but not of friends. Just shared pics. Lots of damn song lyrics too. I found nothing of interest too me save for my friends son’s 5th bday. Since that took about a minute I thought I’d check in on Google+. I’ll admit I don’t use it very much any more. I use twitter mainly. I should have never checked my Google Plus. I’m only kidding, but I did spend the next 45 minutes reading post after post of stuff I was actually interested in. I was actually interacting. Not just scanning through.

Now that I’m done reading on Google Plus for the night I decided that somethings got to change. Facebook is pretty much pointless. It is called a Social network, yet your not allowed to socialize. Its more like a social network taking place in prison. I almost never see posts from my brother. I have to go to his profile page just to see what’s been going on. Why? Cuz Facebook filters what you see based off of your interactions with people. Even though I interact with my brother everyday, its usually not through facebook. I find this annoying and stupid.

Using twitter in conjunction with Google Plus is all I really need. I socialize in these two places making new connections weekly. Learning things, reading things that actually interest me. Not about Aquarius and how their days supposed to go or sweet offers of tilling someones garden on farmville.

So I really need to thank NASA and the landing of the Rover on Mars! Its every other post on my Google Plus timeline. But it was interesting and space exploration is something I’m very interested in. Yet why did I not see one post on Facebook covering the event? So my time on Facebook is coming to an end. Ill have to save my pictures if I delete it. I think i might just keep it so I can stay in the cool kids circle lol. Not! I think by deleting it. Others will be forced to interact with me in real life instead of through pokes and likes. Good bye Facebook, you have always been more boring than any other social site. Thanks for nothing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in Uncategorized, Words

 

Tags:

One response to “Hello Mars, Goodbye Facebook

  1. notrox (@Notrox)

    August 6, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Good read and congrats escaping the Face Book matrix. Couple months ago, I reunited with a friend I haven’t seen for years. How you say? I was walking down the street and he pulled over. No wires! No FB! He got out of his truck and we jumped around like fools. These are emotions that wouldn’t be so intense if I was alone and in front of a screen.

     

Leave a Reply

 
