RSS

Why I Chose DropBox Over Google Plus Instant Upload

08 May
Why I Chose DropBox Over Google Plus Instant Upload

 

The digital age is in full swing! More and more mobile data is being used and a lot of it is consumed by cloud storage. Cloud storage is a model of networked enterprise storage where data is stored not in the user’s computer, but in virtualized pools of storage which are generally hosted by third parties.” One of the advantages of cloud storage is being able to access your information across multiple platforms. For example the information you save from your phone can also be accessed on your PC. Not only is it a convenience, it is also great for backing up information that you don’t want to lose. In this digital age people are using their smartphones more to capture the events happening in their lives. Plain and simple mobile phone cameras are becoming better. Faster capture times and better resolution photos. Phones are much easier to lose than photos stored in a physical photo album. Backing up your photos to the cloud is a perfect solution to this problem. Many companies have now come to your rescue! Two of the top companies to assist you in backing up your photos are DropBox and Google.

DropBox is a cloud storage site that allows you to store any type of file and make it easy to share folders with people. You can make folders private or public. One of the newest features of DropBox is Camera Upload, which automatically uploads pictures you’ve taken on your phone. It has built in options to upload over mobile data or Wi-Fi only. A draw back to using DropBox is that you only start off with 2.5GB of space. If you activate the Camera Upload feature you get and extra 3GB. Also follow the instruction on how to get more space. My DropBox is up to 8GB. On the plus sides of things, my favorite feature of DropBox is that all your photos that are synced online are automatically downloaded to your PC. All you have to do is have DropBox installed on your computer and all files that are online will automatically be downloaded to a DropBox folder. This has to be the best feature of DropBox. Another good thing to know is that the pictures you upload will not be changed in size or quality; they are exact duplicates. Since DropBox isn’t affiliated with any social network services sharing pictures and/or albums is easier to do. It’s nice to be able to send photos of your son’s first birthday to an aunt that lives 3000 miles away and has a PC but is not on Facebook.

Google is another big company involved in cloud storage. They seem to have their hands in all things internet related. Google also wanted their users to be able to have a built in way to back up photos. What they did was integrate Instant Upload with Google Plus. If you go into your settings on the Google Plus application you will see at the bottom Instant Upload. By turning this feature on, all your photos will be backed up to a private folder on your Google Plus account. It has similar options to that of DropBox except it goes one step further. Not only can you specify uploading photos via mobile or Wi-Fi; you can upload photos only while on Wi-Fi and charging. This is kind of handy if you are out and about and happen to connect to Wi-Fi automatically. Having this option checked would stop any photos from being uploaded until you have it connected to a charger. It’s not going to be as easy to obtain a copy of all of your photos on your PC as it is for dropbox, but it is possible. Google does give you 15GB of storage to save all your photos to, which is a good amount of space to start out with. So that you don’t have to worry about running out of space, Google will automatically resize all of your photos to be no more than 2048 pixels on the longest edge.

So I chose to use both platforms of backing up photos to ensure that I don’t ever lose those precious moments captured of my family. I always will go with DropBox, because I don’t have to worry about photos being resized and when I get home they are automatically on my PC. This is a must have for myself. At the same time it’s nice that my photos are also already in a private folder on Google Plus as sharing them from there won’t require me to upload them. So a few simple clicks and my photos are now shared to my Google Plus profile.

so go check out DropBox and Google Plus. If you check out DropBox use this link, http://db.tt/tuSKwoM and you will get some extra storage.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2013 in Tech

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Why I Chose DropBox Over Google Plus Instant Upload

  1. Robin

    May 21, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Slightly wrong arguments near the end. Google+ doesn’t resize the photos automatically if you set the option in the Android App to upload ‘full size’ photos, and you get 5 GB of free storage space for these high resolution photos. If you set it to ‘standard size’ then it will resize them, but then you will also be able to upload ‘unlimited’ photos and not bound by 5 GB limit (which might be wonderful for people with low mega-pixel camera phones).

    For me, the only valid difference between the two services is the convenience of the Dropbox desktop application automatically downloading the images to my computer.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      May 21, 2013 at 10:41 am

      You’re totally right! I agree! My whole article is actual invalid now because Google gives you 15GB now which is awesome. But I still need the desktop app. Google Drive has a desktop app, just wish the photos could be accessed there.

      Thanks for reading and responding I greatly appreciate it!

       
  2. Earl

    May 25, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    Thanks. Very informative. I have a lot of “old school” computer knowledge, but have trouble keeping up with the latest advances. You’ve convinced me to finally do some backing up in the cloud.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      May 25, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      That’s awesome! I love cloud storage personally. Even though this article is only a few weeks old, it’s actually outdated now. Google just announced that you get 15Gb of storage now instead of 5GB. Glad I could help though!

       
  3. James G

    July 7, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    Josh,

    Great article man! I prefer Dropbox myself over google. However, I love google+ too and I use both just like yourself. I was really hoping google+ would be better, but Dropbox wins for now.

    And yes, I know about the 15gb of storage that google offers now. Awesomeness!

    I ran a speed test between Dropbox and Google to see how fast the pics get backed up after taking a picture. Dropbox wins hands down: backs up in about 10 seconds.

    Google takes forever. I waited more than 20 minutes (with the setting to wifi only). I grew impatient and took my smartphone out of wifi mode and then back to wifi, hit refresh on google and then the photo backed up.

    I’m not sure why Google+ photo back up isn’t instant in seconds like Dropbox. It should have worked quick, but it didn’t. I took the photos at home where I have wireless fidelity and Dropbox kills google+ in speed of back up everytime (even backing up a photo in 6 seconds on one try).

    -JSJ

     
  4. Jazzy

    October 22, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    Thanks for the article. Helped me out a great deal : )

     
  5. AndroidNurd

    November 25, 2013 at 11:29 am

    I’ve updated the article to reflect the current offerings of each company

     
  6. NikNakNoNo

    January 2, 2014 at 5:52 am

    Hi, in Africa where bandwidth is an issue, Dropbox is the preferred option. It may take you DAYS to upload video clips and photos, but once its in album form, its quick to manipulate and share. Moving things around in Google + takes forever. Now I share my Dropbox photo album links with my Google+ circles! Perhaps once our bandwidth is better, I will change my mind. Any other hints would be greatly appreciated.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      January 2, 2014 at 10:00 am

      I never took into account places that have bandwidth issues. I figured Google+ would be great with handling that because once it’s uploaded sharing is easy. Cool thanks for the info. As for advice I don’t know about pc but for mobile Onavo Extend is a great app.

       

Leave a Reply

 
