RSS

I Hate Getting Emotional

21 May
I Hate Getting Emotional

Today has been a rough day for me. Of course nothing compared to the families in Oklahoma. I’m not normally an emotional guy and even when I am feeling something a few drinks suppress the thoughts. I’m not the crying type as I don’t see what that solves. It’s not a solution to any problem that I have. Yet today I have had to hold back tears more than a few times. I hate getting emotional and when I see others getting emotional I feel like its all theatrics. I guess that’s just my disconnect from the people that surround me. But what happened in Oklahoma is a tragedy, and its hard even for the most cold hearted not to feel anything. I’m shocked that with all of the technology and science genius’ in the world we can’t protect ourselves from a tornado? I know its not as simple as that; that’s not my point. What bothers me is that so many little kids lost their lives. How many futures were changed in that moment? What can you do when not only did you lose your child but all of the places you created memories was torn out of the ground. It is so depressing to think about being in their shoes. My heart goes out to those families and I only wish the healing process comes quick. After I read about the tornadoes in Oklahoma, I watched a YouTube video called clouds by zach sobiech. Then I watched an interview with the kid. Amazing to be able to go through life knowing that at 18 that’s it, youre done.  You can watch the video here:

This is what makes me appreciate all that I have. I’m so fortunate to be able to have a healthy family. I’m so fortunate to be able to be here for them. I only wish I could be here more often. Just now my son came up to me and said “I love you daddy, I missed you while you were gone.” I hate being away from them so often because of work. None of us are promised tomorrow so cherish what you have today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in Rants

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
