RSS

Dropbox Teams Up With Samsung

27 Aug

Dropbox Gives Samsung Phones 50GB free

Samsung Confirms All Canadian Carriers Will Opt Into 50GB Dropbox Offer

I’m a believer in rooting your Android device and installing custom ROMS that enhance your phones usability. Usually just installing CyanogenMod or other ROMS similar to it. I’ve recently decided that I really like TouchWiz on my AT&T Galaxy S4. I’m sure there plenty of people out there that would disagree with that opinion. I am running a slightly modded version of Samsungs Home replacement.

By now you’re probably wondering what Dropbox has to do with this post. Well I’ve had my GS4 since the first day ATT launched it. Got it Saturday April 26th. This phone did not come preinstalled with Dropbox like the international version did. If other ATT GS4’s came with it preinstalled lucky them, mine most certainly did not. This is important because Dropbox teamed up with Samsung to provide certain Samsung devices like the GS4 with 48GB of free storage for 2 years. Now one of the contingencies was that Carriers had to approve of participating in this. ATT along with Verizon declined participating in this. This sucked for me because im a huge Dropbox user.

A few days ago I had to replace my cracked screen. Got my phone, rooted it and installed a TouchWiz based ROM. This ROM is different from all others I’ve had on this phone. Its an international version. So no different then before I logged into dropbox, but this time it was already installed. All I had to do was log in. BAM! 48GB free of storage.

Am I cheating them? Oh well. Ill enjoy that free storage and probably upgrade at the end. Unless Google starts to sync photos to my desktop.

image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2013 in Tech

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
