RSS

How To Make Xbox 360 WiFi

31 Jan

Back in July we moved into our new house. A nice quiet little neighborhood, right in the center of town. The only thing I didn’t like was the fact that we had to get Time Warner Cable. I specifically asked if there were other Internet providers before moving in; I was told yes. That is untrue. Not that big of a deal, I just prefer DSL over cable when playing on my xbox.

For some reason the unit we moved into Internet couldn’t be installed in our living room. The connection didn’t work. However after some research, the cable guy was able to get intent working in my son’s bedroom. No biggie. I mainly use wifi. The problem I have now is that my xbox is not wifi, nor do I have a cable long enough to reach my son’s room. Here is my solution to that problem.

It’s very easy even a novice could do it. I basically found a way to share my laptops Internet connection with my xbox. It’s not always perfect, but it work pretty good.

1- OPEN UP YOUR NETWORK CONNECTIONS. THIS CAN BE ACCESS BY RIGHT CLICK ON YOUR LAPTOPS CONNECTIONS AND SELECT “OPEN NETWORK AND SHARING CENTER”
2- A SCREEN WILL OPEN THAT SHOWS YOU YOUR CURRENT CONNECTION. CLICK ON CHANGE ADAPTER SETTINGS.
3- HOLD DOWN THE SHIFT KEY AND SELECT BOTH “WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION”  AND “LOCAL AREA CONNECTION”
4- RIGHT CLICK ON EITHER ONE NOW THAT THEY ARE SELECT AND IN THE POPUP MENU CLICK BRIDGE CONNECTION.

There you are all done. What you just did was connect your wifi to your ethernet cable basically sharing your laptops connection with what ever device is connected to the ethernet cable. Enjoy hope this helps someone. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2014 in Tech

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
