RSS

The Whole30 and Me

03 Mar

I haven’t written anything in a long time. I’ve been very busy working on my personal life. I used to spend hours every night playing Xbox leaving my wife to go to bed alone. All day long I was on my phone updating social network statuses and chatting with people. Tasks at work that should take me 20 minutes were taking an hour. My health was declining, constantly eating fast food. My life didn’t matter. All I did was work, say hi to my wife and son, play my video games and repeat. So I stepped away.

I’m actually only writing this now to curb my urges to write. Writing isn’t bad, creating content isn’t bad. I love writing. I just have been picking the wrong times to do it. Since I also have a lot of other things going on in my life I’m trying to work on, stepping away almost completely seemed the best solution.

I wanted to share with you all what I am going through right now. It’s a journey that I assumed I would fail, maybe not even start. I could still fail. I decided to go on a diet. Not something I’ve ever been good at. A couple months ago I saw that a friend was participating in the Whole30 diet. I was intrigued, checked it out and it seemed impossible. Especially with my retail schedule. I decided I would give it a try. I ended up going all in, spending every dime I had left on approved foods. Now I have no choice but to eat it.

If you don’t know what the Whole30 is here is the guide lines simply put. All you can eat is meats, veggies, and fruit. Nothing processed, or that has sugar, or soy. That’s the basics. Check out their website for all the nitty gritty. It’s not the Atkins diet.

This diet hasn’t been as hard as I’ve thought it would be. Especially thanks to my amazing wife for her kitchen skills(which I am picking up) and to a coworker who is also doing the same diet. I am finally learning my way around the kitchen, discovering foods prepared in different ways that taste amazing but that are healthy for you. So far I am enjoying his great I feel. I’m only 7 days in so you can only take what I say with a grain of salt. But I used to have heart burn daily. So far I haven’t had heart burn once since I started. Might be a connection there. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2014 in Health, Rants

 

Leave a Reply

 
