RSS

Naked Android

27 Mar

Ever since I’ve owned an Android device the first thing I do is root it and remove the pre-installed OS. I like the vanilla flavor of Android usually better then any skinned version eg TouchWiz. About a month ago I decided to strip my Galaxy S4 of all its mighty powers. Basically, I unrooted it and updated it to the latest software, Android 4.4.2. I figured that within a week I wouldn’t be happy  with my device without root and would go right back to an older OS. Here I am still using my GS4 and loving it just as much as i did the first day I got it. With a few tweaks TouchWiz really isn’t that bad. The device works, it’s fast, apps load smoothly, the battery life is great, and I like the TouchWiz camera app better then Googles.

What I am trying to say here is that Android is finally maturing enough, that geeks like me don’t have to modify the device to be able to use it to its potential. Now let’s not get crazy, as soon as I find a way to root my GS4 with 4.4.2(root for this update is currently unavailable without going back to an older version of the OS.) I will. Here’s why though… I don’t think that I need to install a different ROM like CM11 or LiquidSmooth, but there are some tweaks that can be made to the GS4 to improve its capabilities. For example, battery life is already good, I get about 8 hours(I use my phone a lot and I don’t dim the screen) but I can get even more out of it with an app like TrickstersMod(a CPU governor.) With root access, also known as Super Users Permissions, I can get even more functionality out of Tasker. I can also remove the pre-installed apps that I don’t use, not just have to disable them. Having root access just gives me more options to customize the phone.

On a side note, I’ve been looking, watching, waiting for a device to get released that will grab my attention. So far nothing has. The HTC One looks nice, but I take a lot of pictures and the One doesn’t seems to be up to snuff in that category. The GS5 is a pretty lame upgrade compared to what I already have. And by that I’m not saying it’s not a good device, it’s just not worth a $500 upgrade. So for now I sit here enjoying my naked GS4. Can’t wait for Google to release Android Wear. God, this coffee has me all over the place today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2014 in Tech

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
