RSS

Why Subject Yourself To Depressing Movies?

10 Jun

image

I watched Fault In Our Stars last night… Why? Why? Why? Why do people subject themselves to movies that are so depressing? There’s obviously a scientific explaination… Which can be found here: Why Do People Like Sad Movies

Seriously though? I don’t understand it. I really enjoy comedies. I can even compromise and enjoy a romantic comedy. But I movie that is 90% depressing… I don’t know that I enjoyed that.

For me the movie did stir up thought about life. There are a few times during the movie my mind wandered off to the harsh reality that there are people just like this. Perhaps my favorite scene in the entire movie, which also seemed the realist, was when Augustus asked Hazel to come to the gas station and she ended up having to call an ambulance for him. That scene brought the reality of the suffering that people with cancer and their families have to go through. Again, I say why watch something so devastating?  I could find plenty of things to do with my time.

I write all of this… But still say… It was a good movie. Just can’t wear my head around the enjoyment part. Our brains are all just fucked up. 

There are things known and there are things unknown, and in between are the doors of perception.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 10, 2014 in Rants

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Why Subject Yourself To Depressing Movies?

  1. Brandon Toscano

    June 11, 2014 at 2:20 am

    you know I often wondered this same thing, and I came up with a idea. People like depressing movies because often times they can relate and it makes you really reflect on life. I know those are the reasons I enjoy them. 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
