RSS

It’s Not Gun Control We Need…

17 Jun

image

This morning on my way to work an unmarked police car passed me. I was already doing 10 mph over the speed limit. He was doing at least 10 mph more than I. It got me thinking though about the lack of respect for the law that people in power have. Which then leads me to think about gun regulation and how the government continues trying to take our weapons from us.

This always seems like a hot topic to debate, but I don’t think there is anything we should be debating. You simply cannot allow the government to take our guns. Everyone has learned in school about what happens when governments disarm it’s citizens. If you need a refresher here’s a short list:

1911 – Turkey disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1915 – 1917 they murdered 1.5 million Armenians.

1929 – Russia disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1929 – 1953 they murdered 20 million Russians.

1935 – China disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1948 – 1952 they murdered 20 million Chinese.

1938 – Germany disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1939 – 1945 they murdered 16 million Jews.

1956 – Cambodia disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1975 – 1977 they murdered 1 million Educated people.

1964 – Guatemala disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1964 – 1981 they murdered 100,000 Mayan Indians.

1970 – Uganda disarmed it’s citizens, and between 1971 – 1979 they murdered 300,000 Christians.

I’m not saying that this is what would happen here in America. It does however guarantee one thing, you are now more vulnerable. Criminals will always have weapons. It’s the law abiding citizens like you and I that will have our families lives put at risk. Some of my friends think we need stricter gun laws and say that gun owners need to compromise more. I can some what agree with that statement. I agree that there needs to be a discussion about the process people go through to own a gun. Compromise?

1934- National Firearms Act
1968- The Gun Control Act
1986- Firearms Owners Protection Act
1993- Brady Handgun Violence Act
1994- “Assault Weapons” Ban
1995- Gun Free School Zone

I think gun owners have done a lot of compromising over the years. Take away the guns what’s next? Knives? Guns are not the problem and gun control isn’t the solution. How  about we just start with better communication.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2014 in Political

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “It’s Not Gun Control We Need…

  1. ROT (@DexHaven)

    June 30, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    Well more selective evidence, I would ask you to look at Sweden, Poland, the uk, Australia and modern Germany take a deep breath and be honest with yourself and look at what happened when they took the guns away in these cases. Also if your government does go (more) tyrannical, assault rifles will be quite useless, ground to air missiles, drones and heavy artillery would help. one more thing it would be nice if the US could control its guns, your arms industry hurts my country as well. the few cases of gun violence we do have, would be less if you guys would stop leaking arms over you borders onto the international market.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      June 30, 2014 at 4:44 pm

      I see what you are saying. But I think the same could be said about where you are from, tighten up your borders and no guns would enter. But my point is more about protecting my family. You just helped solidify my point. Criminals will find a way to get their hands on weapons. And if I don’t also have one I’m defenseless

       
  2. ROT (@DexHaven)

    June 30, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    Britain’s borders are quite solid it makes more sense to stem the source but of course its not just the US that manufactures guns but its really quite selfish to produce so much weaponry, I would be so pissed with the US if i was Canadian. with tighter gun controls it is much harder for criminals to get guns, granted not impossible but the situation improves there is doubt in that, you should come see the amount of gun violence we have here its so low. for me the one of the problems is having a gun then not having one must feel real bad, I have never had the privilege so i don’t feel unsafe without one it just the way things are, my brother in law hunts and love his guns but even he is all for gun control.

    sorry to hear about your Da

     
    • AndroidNurd

      June 30, 2014 at 10:08 pm

      I’m not against laws that make it harder to own a weapon. I’m trying to point out that guns aren’t the problem. If someone wants to hurt someone then they will. A kid just went on a stabbing spree in a school. What are we supposed to do now… Start banning knives? The US has a huge population with 5 times the amount of ppl were bound to have 5 times the amount of crazies lol. I’m not fight for what kind of guns we have, but this is the foundation of our nation. Freedom from oppression. There’s a reason we’re not in the UK anymore.

       
    • AndroidNurd

      June 30, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Oh just read your last line. Thank you. Really, thank you. I hope I don’t come off as rude. Just share a different opinion.

       

Leave a Reply

 
