RSS

It Feels Like A Sauna Here

24 Jun

image

I just wanted to share this for those of you that laugh when I’m like, “damn it’s hot as hell!” and it’s only 100° here where I am in North Carolina. I have buddies that reply with, “Man that’s weak, it’s 115° here.”

Well there is just a few things they don’t understand as I have the unwanted experience of living in California and North Carolina. Weather and temperature is very complicated in all its measurements, but let me simplify it for you. The way the temperature feels is directly related to the humidity. So today as I write this it is currently 79° with 78% humidity. So to anyone outside it feels like it is 91° It’s 10am! In California in Redding, it is 67° with a 35% humidity and so it feels like it’s 66°

So granted here where I live in NC we rarely go above 100°, pretty much every day of summer feels like it is over 100° here. No matter though. I prefer it to be hot versus being cold. 

For the science behind how it all works check out How Stuff Works

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2014 in Rants

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “It Feels Like A Sauna Here

  1. terrepruitt

    August 25, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    Humidity makes me nauseated.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      August 25, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      I’m as used to it as I can get. I prefer my California heat over this poopy weather.

       

Leave a Reply

 
