RSS

I’d Like To Take You For Another Ride

30 Jun

I drive a Mustang. It’s white. It’s completely stock. It’s a V6. It’s nothing special to any stranger looking at it. But it’s my car, it’s my first car. It’s also the only thing my dad gave me that I still have. He loved going for a ride in it. For a V6 it’s loud and it’s fun. I can still hear his nasally laughter when I started up the car and revved the engine. I can still smell his cologne; he always wore Drakkar. This makes my car very special to me. Pretty much every time I look at it I think of my father.

You’re probably wondering why I shared that with you. Well today has been a tough day. Today is my father’s birthday and I miss him. It’s like someone’s reaching inside of me and squeezing my heart. It’s like being dragged out by a riptide, drowning, helplessly. It’s like realizing you’re in a terrifying dream but can’t scream. How can I not tell my dad happy birthday….

I’d like to think somehow he’s watching over me. Somehow he is still here helping me along. I know he’s not,  but it’s a comforting thought. So even if he can’t read this, it’s comforting for me to say… Cheers dad, this drink is in your honor. I love you.

image

-this was the last time I saw my dad. It was such a nice day, an awesome trip.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “I’d Like To Take You For Another Ride

  1. jamesasheridan

    July 5, 2014 at 8:34 am

    Thanks for that moving piece of writing. Right now my Dad’s in hospital with leukemia having a blood transfusion.

     
    • AndroidNurd

      July 5, 2014 at 9:08 am

      Oh man! I hope everything turns out well. That’s a tough situation to be in.

       
      • jamesasheridan

        July 6, 2014 at 1:42 am

        Thanks, man. He’s having surgery today to remove something else they found on his stomach and kidneys, but he’s a tough guy – I know he’ll get through it all.

         
      • AndroidNurd

        July 8, 2014 at 12:39 am

        You should let me know how it turns out. I feel like it’s tough for me to deal with things like this when you’re not religious. Not that it would be any easier, but that there’s more to life than the here and now.

         

Leave a Reply

 
