RSS

Facebook: ‘Get The Facts’ About Messenger App | News & Opinion | PCMag.com

02 Sep
Facebook: ‘Get The Facts’ About Messenger App | News & Opinion | PCMag.com

image

A couple weeks ago I saw all the hype going on over the need for everyone to uninstall the Facebook messenger app. Why? Because of the requested permissions. So I decided to read and check out these permissions. First thing I did was uninstall the app immediately.

My concern was over how much power I was handing over to Facebook. Then I realized that I too had been persuaded that Facebook was evil in trying to force us into having to use the Facebook messenger app. Check out this article here: PCMAG.com It explains what my follow up thoughts were.

Basically, the Facebook messenger app is just like every other app you download onto your phone. In order for it to be able to function it needs permission to access certain parts of your phone. This is how Android works. This is why I’ve reinstalled the app. Just like you should if you like to chat with your friends. It’s actually a decent app. Might even have to write up a review on all the things it can do.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2014 in Rants, Tech

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
